Wednesday, April 23, 2014

"By the Numbers: Tracing the Statistical Correlation Between Press Freedom and Democracy,

CIMA is pleased to release "By the Numbers: Tracing the Statistical Correlation Between Press Freedom and Democracy," researched and written by Karin Deutsch Karlekar, Freedom House's project director of Freedom of the Press, and journalism professor Lee Becker, director of the James M. Cox Jr. Center for International Mass Communication Training and Research at the University of Georgia. 


It is generally accepted that media freedom is beneficial to democratic and economic development, but the exact nature of this relationship and the direction of causality between press freedom and general freedoms is under-researched. Rigorous and in-depth examinations of the relationship between press freedom and general democracy using the available global datasets have been limited. This study investigates the nature of that relationship using the two leading indices and is an important contribution to a subject that merits further study and analysis.  


For more information on the Center for International Media Assistance, please explore our website at, or contact us at

International Institute for ICT Journalism

Monday, April 21, 2014

Submission open for the WASH Media Awards 2014

Submission open for the 2014 WASH Media Awards

Are you a journalist covering water and sanitation issues? SIWI and the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC) now welcome entries for the 5th edition of the WASH Media Awards.

WASH Media Awards recognise and support the crucial role of the media in raising awareness of the importance of water, sanitation, and hygiene services (WASH). The award aims to help improve access to water and sanitation services by having a positive influence on politicians, business persons, civil society representatives, and individual citizens.
To be eligible, entries must be published or broadcast between: 15 June 2013 and 15 June 2014. Deadline for applications is 15 June, 2014.
Journalists may submit a piece within the following themes:
  • Water and Energy
  • Equity and Inclusion in Water, Sanitation and Hygiene
  • Ending Open Defecation
  • The Human Right to Water and Sanitation
  • WASH in the Future: The Post-2015 Development Agenda
  • Monitoring WASH Commitments
Journalists may submit one piece of work using one of the following formats:
  • Print & Online
  • TV (including documentaries)
  • Radio
  • Published cartoons & photos
Prizes and Eligibility
Six prizes will be awarded, one for each of the themes identified above. Entries can come from any developing or middle-income country. Prize winners will receive a cash award and the opportunity to participate in the World Water Week in Stockholm – the world's leading water event  31 August - 5 September 2014 as special guests of WSSCC and SIWI.
Submission is made through the WSSCC website where you can download the entry form. Submit your entry before 15 June.

More information:
You can read more about the WASH Media Awards either on WSSCC website or SIWI website.
If you have questions, contact:
Sanna Gustafsson, SIWI
Phone: +46 (0) 8 121 360 36

International Institute for ICT Journalism