Thursday, February 06, 2014

The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism

The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism have been recognising and rewarding exceptional business journalism since 1974. The awards are the premier financial journalism awards in South Africa and have become a prestigious and hotly contested accolade.

We have continued our commitment to the initiative by revamping the 2013 awards to bring them in line with media changes and ensure their ongoing relevance. The most significant change is the introduction of two new core categories: platform neutral and platform specific awards. Platform neutral awards celebrate content generated on a range of subjects independent of the platform the work was produced for. Platform specific awards recognise the deep skills needed for each platform.

A special award in 2013, the ‘African Growth Story’, will honour the journalist who best captures the growth story of the African continent. This marks the first time the awards have been opened to journalists outside of South Africa.

An independent panel of judges – which includes media experts, an academic and an economist – will judge according to the following revised criteria: news value, impact, rigour in reporting, analytical value, originality, integrity, specialist knowledge and storytelling.

The full list of awards is:

Category 1: Platform neutral category

  • Business/companies
  • Economy
  • Financial markets
  • Consumer financial education
  • African Growth story

Category 2: Platform specific awards

  • Radio financial journalist of the year
  • TV financial journalist of the year
  • Print financial journalist of the year
  • Online financial journalist of the year
  • Multi-media financial journalist of the year

Category 3: Special Awards

  • Best Newcomer
  • Lifetime achievement
  • Journalist of the year

More details on the awards can be found here.

The winner of each category receives a prize of R20 000 while the overall winner receives an additional R30 000, and the best newcomer merit award amounts to R15 000.

Click here to enter, here to view criteria and here for rules.

International Institute for ICT Journalism

No comments: