Monday, March 29, 2010

Call for Nominations - Communication and Social Change Award 2010

Nomination for Communication and Social Change Award 2010

The School of Journalism and Communication invites nominations for its
prestigious 2010 Communication and Social Change Award.

This annual Award honours outstanding contributions by individuals and
organisations/institutions to the theory and practice of Communication
for Social Change (CSC.) This is the only Award of its kind, and it is
administered by the Centre for Communication and Social Change, School
of Journalism and Communication.

Previous CSC Award-winners have been: 2009 - Overall winner, New Dawn
Community Radio 95.3 FM, Bougainville, PNG; Meritorious Commendation
Award, Mrs Lakshmi Murthy, Vikalpdesign, India; 2008 - Overall winner,
Mr Chin Saik Yoon, Southbound Press, Penang, Malaysia; Meritorious
Commendation Award, Mr John Dada, Fantsuam Foundation, Nigeria; 2007 -
Winner, The Soul City Institute, South Africa; 2006 - Winner, Ms
Supinya Klangnarong, 'Campaign for Popular Media Reform' (CPMR),

We strongly encourage individuals, inter-governmental organisations,
non-governmental organisations, international, regional and national
academic and professional communication associations, international
media networks and communication and social change consortia to submit
nominations for this Award.

CSC Award objectives and selection criteria

The CSC Award:
• Recognises major theoretical innovation and knowledge generation in
the field of communication for social change,
• Acknowledges innovative and practical communication and social
change projects that have contributed to grassroots-level sustainable
development, and
• Appreciates the contributions made by individuals and organisations
whose moral courage and extraordinary commitment to communication for
social change expands the boundary of what is possible in this field.
2009 Award Winner
UQ Vice Chancellor presents Communication and Social Change Awards
2009 Winner of the Communication and Social Change Award

Previous Award Winners
2008 Winner of the Communication and Social Change Award
2007 Winner of the Communication and Social Change Award
2006 Winner of the Communication and Social Change Award


Starting from 2010, the Award will have two categories:
• individual practitioner achievement, and
• organisation/institution achievement.

Each Award comprises a certificate and A$2500. Winners in the two
categories are selected in the last quarter of each year by an
independent jury comprising senior Australian academics, media
representatives and development assistance experts.

In selecting the Award winners, the CSC Jury will consider both
significant contributions to the theory of CSC, and notable
achievements in applied communication practice. The theoretical and
practical work of Award nominees should reflect and/or be directly
relevant to contemporary international work being done at the
'grassroots' in the field of CSC. The CSC Jury will also consider the
pioneering contributions made by theorists and practitioners to CSC.
Nominations that demonstrate an innovative approach and a strong
commitment to long-term sustainable development are also sought.

Announcement and Award ceremony arrangements

The Award will be presented to the winners at an official ceremony to
be hosted by The University of Queensland's School of Journalism and
Communication in Brisbane in late 2010.

The winners of the Award will be announced in the media prior to the
formal Award presentation ceremony, and will be featured on the
School's website.

The Award winners will deliver a keynote address at the award ceremony.

The School of Journalism and Communication will meet the travel and
accommodation expenses of the Award winners to attend the Award
presentation ceremony and deliver guest lectures.

Additional conditions of the CSC Award

Award-winners may also:
• Be asked to present a public lecture (or lectures) at The University
of Queensland,
• Be expected to contribute the award ceremony address they deliver
for publication, and
• Be prepared to be interviewed by the media.
How to submit a nomination

The School of Journalism and Communication invites you to submit a
nomination to Associate Professor Pradip Thomas by mail, fax or email.

Your nomination must include the following support documents:

• A completed and signed nomination form
Please download the pdf version for the nominations form
• A letter describing the nominee's contribution to the field of CSC
• A curriculum vitae or organisational profile
• Media articles, profiles and supporting documents, either written by
or about the nominee
• Two written references (with full addresses and contact details).
The Award Jury may later contact those persons to provide more
detailed information on the nominee.
All nominations must be received by no later than 30 June 2010.
Associate Professor Thomas's contact details are:

A/Prof. Pradip Thomas
School of Journalism and Communication
The University of Queensland
Brisbane, QLD 4072, Australia
Tel: +61 7 3346 8243
Fax: +61 7 3346 8299

For further information on the CSC Award, also contact:

Ms Marsali Mackinnon, Project Support Officer
Centre for Communication and Social Change
School of Journalism and Communication
University of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD 4072 Australia
Tel: +61 7 3346 3092
Fax +61 7 3346 8299

International Institute for ICT Journalism

No comments: